Batteries Not Included

Growing up, I use to always laugh when I would see a package that had a disclaimer on it that read, “Batteries Not Included.” I would think, why is it such a big deal about not having any batteries in the box that they have to print that on the packaging?  But then I grew up and started living on my own.

I came back on Friday from doing some Black Friday shopping and I could hear my dogs barking when I pulled up to the house. It appears that a smoke detector battery in the bedroom was going off because it needed a new battery. Hmmm, you would think that Princess Punkin was so smart, that she could have just changed the battery herself. But that didn’t happen. Lazy butt Peekingese!

So I quickly ran down to the store to get some new AAA batteries — the only problem is that the smoke detector doesn’t take AAA batteries they take 9V batteries. What was I thinking? I even took out the battery to stop the alarm and so the dogs would quit barking. But I guess I did not look at what type of battery I took out.

So off I went back to the store for trip # 2 to exchange batteries. While I was at it, I just got some extra 9V’s and decided to change all of the smoke detector batteries. I had a total of six to replace. I also stopped by Target for any last-minute Black Friday sales since I was out and about and within a 75 mile radius of a Target!!

After hauling out the ladder and replacing the all of the batteries I decided to sit down to enjoy some hot liquid in the form of a nice cup of cocoa and relax by catching up on some past episodes of “Days of Our Lives” I have recorded, but not yet watched! When I went to use the remote the TV did not come on. Houston we have a problem. What else could go wrong I thought? click – click -click , nope, nothing. nadda. zip. zilch.

Hoping it was just the remote, I actually stood up and decided to turn on the TV the old school way by pushing the on button on the TV set itself, instead of by remote. Presto – instant picture. So I am not a rocket scientist, but now I realized the remote probably just needed new batteries!  So I cracked open the back of the  remote and saw that it needs four AAA batteries. Yep, the exact same size of batteries I just took back to the store less than an hour ago!! Grrrr, my Greek temper was really being tested.

So I loaded up the dogs and headed back to the store for battery shopping trip #3. I decided to buy one of those ginormous packages of AAA batteries, just so I wouldn’t be caught without them again. I think I got like 100 batteries for $39.00 – sounds reasonable to me. Oh, since I was out and about I decided to stop by Kohl’s one last time on Black Friday —  thought you would want to know!

So later last night I decided to boot up the computer to get this blog written before heading off to bed. It’s been a long holiday weekend and I thought perhaps I would write about the great time I had visiting my Mom for Thanksgiving… but I couldn’t even get that far. You’re not going to believe this but my Logitech wireless mouse that I use for my Mac was dead. The batteries in it were dead.

I think there must have been some weird vortex field over my house while I was gone that zapped the life out of anything using  a battery.

So I cracked open the back of the mouse and saw that it only takes two batteries. Thank goodness I bought the economy size earlier! – See the Greek mind does work from time to time!!  The celebratory mood was very short-lived when I tried putting the AAA batteries in the mouse,  I quickly realized the wireless mouse takes AA batteries, not AAA.

I AM NOT running back to the store for battery shopping trip #4. Not tonight anyway. I don’t want to show the clerk just how blonde I really am. I will do it tomorrow and tonight I will just use the touch pad on the computer instead of the external mouse.

Soooooo – needless to say, whenever I now see the words on a package “Batteries Not Included” the one thing that comes to mind is maybe it should even be more specific and read:  “Ava, 2 AA Batteries Not Included!” Just sayin’

Blessings,

Ava

xox

About Ava Aston's Muckery

Hello! Thanks for stopping by. My name is Ava Aston and I am a recording artist and actress. I'm just an ordinary girl who acts, sings, writes songs and now writes this blog. I hope you enjoy my blogging enough to want to subscribe. Blessings, Ava If you want to learn even more about me, check out my website at www.avaaston.com
This entry was posted in Actress, Ava Aston, Bizarre, Funny girl, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Batteries Not Included

  1. ldsrr91 says:

    I always like it when I need “two batteries” but I have to purchase “four.” Or when you need “four” and they make you purchase “ten.” In order to get even with my children, at Christmas I always buy my grandchildren toys that “require batteries” and of course, make a LOT OF NOISE …

    DS

  2. Addy says:

    Serioulsy Ava, what an adventure that must’ve been! I guess the constant trips to the store must have left your “batteries drained”! Hope you recharged them!!!

    Best Wishes,
    Addy

  3. tiallarising says:

    Wow, don’t you hate it when just about everything seems to go wrong in one day?? I *loved* your post, and I can so relate with the blonde thing. Nice job! Oh, and I guess you figured it out by now, but I really like your blog, so I’m gonna follow it from now on. 🙂

    http://www.tiallarising.wordpress.com

  4. davehitt29 says:

    Changing batteries in smoke detectors makes Fireman Dave Happy 🙂

  5. As a parent of boys, I keep a box of assorted batteries at all times. =) I just wish it were easier to recycle them.

Leave a Reply

