So…

 

The Greek girl has a pet peeve she needs to get off of her chest.

If  you are a fan of my music, or a regular reader of my blog, you already know I don’t claim to be a domestic goddess.  It’s not that I am untidy and a hoarder or that it takes me an hour to cook minute rice, because none of that is true. It’s just that I have concentrated on my acting and singing career instead of my cooking, cleaning and sewing career.

I know by labeling today’s blog “So…” and posting a header picture with some girl sewing in it is very misleading. But I did that just to confuse you and to make you think for just a nanosecond that I had a screw loose rattling around in my little Greek coconut.  But that’s not the case (no matter what Mr. Bricks may think!) The reality is, I want to talk about one of my biggest pet peeves. It is when you are talking to another person and they don’t finish their sentences because they are unsure what answer they will hear if they complete the sentence. They cop-out by not finishing their sentence and trailing off with the proverbial “So…” at the end of their incomplete sentence or thought. Let me give you some examples with my manager Mr. Bricks who is the biggest offender of the “Just say So” muckery:

Me: Well Mr. Bricks do you have a record deal for me yet?

Mr. Bricks: Not yet Ava. I’m working on contacting different labels and publishing companies and I haven’t heard anything back yet, so…

OR

Me: What did you have for lunch today Mr. Bricks?

Mr. Bricks: I went to McDonald’s and had a McRib.

Me: I could have told you that. That food is so unhealthy.

Mr. Bricks: Yes Ava. But I had a lot of meetings and I didn’t have time for anything else, so…

OR

Me: I think I am going to go run 5 miles.

Mr. Bricks: You go Greek girl.

Me: Why don’t you join me?

Mr. Bricks: Oh, I don’t know Ava.

Me: It would do you some good because you will feel better and might lose some weight.

Mr. Bricks: You run fast and I don’t want to slow you down, so…

See how frustrating that is? Just finish your sentences people and you won’t get this blond Greek girl all worked up!!!

Blessings,

Ava

xox

 

About Ava Aston's Muckery

Hello! Thanks for stopping by. My name is Ava Aston and I am a recording artist and actress. I'm just an ordinary girl who acts, sings, writes songs and now writes this blog. I hope you enjoy my blogging enough to want to subscribe. Blessings, Ava If you want to learn even more about me, check out my website at www.avaaston.com
This entry was posted in Actress, Ava Aston, Blonde, Funny girl, girl of the day, Greek and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to So…

  1. tiallarising says:

    hmm unfortunately I think I use “so…” a lot. Now I’ll always be thinking about it when I’m talking (and with others too!). It doesn’t really bother me, but when I’ll say it from now on, or when I hear others say it, I’ll always think of the Greek Blonde Girl. 😉

    -Tia ❤

  2. I have actually never noticed that. Going to look out for it now….
    Mine is when someone says “like I said…” Especially when they didn’t say anything of the sort.
    Xx

  3. vixter2010 says:

    That is frustrating, what is at the end of the sentence?!! A lot of people also add “anyway ….”, also confusing!

  4. frizztext says:

    You run fast and I don’t want to slow you down, so…
    RUN FOR YOUR OWN?

  5. dorcas says:

    ha ha.. This is a little different for me.. Especially since my hubby starts half his new sentences with…’SO’ 🙂 And I figured out that he says the first sentence in his mind.. 🙂 So……

  6. I try to be nice, and to keep in mind that everyone doesn’t have the same point of view, but I tend to get in trouble for finishing the sentence! Example — Friend: “Ooh! This dress looks beautiful and I can afford it! I should try it on, don’t you think?”

    Me: “It’s a great color, but look, it has a dropped waist, so… it may not flatter your figure. Something that fits closer under your bust would look really good on you.”

    Friend: Cold stare. “I don’t know why I ever go shopping with you. You’re a pill.”

    Now more often than not, I say “so… ,” and if they finish the sentence, I cop to it. If they don’t get it, I let it go to keep peace. What do you think? Does this make me a coward who used to be a big mouth, or have I learned the wrong lesson?

Leave a Reply

