Upstairs, Downstairs

Barking up the wrong staircase

Upstairs, Downstairs, don’t you think that sounds more like a line from Rebecca Black’s song “Friday” – Upstairs, Downstairs what stairs should I choose?

Upstairs, Downstairs is also the name of a popular BBC television series about the expolits of two different families,  the lives of the wealthy Bellamy family (“upstairs”), who reside at 165 Eaton Place in London’s fashionable Belgravia, and their servants (“downstairs”). Those crazy Brits, what a bunch of nuts! American audiences spent four seasons falling in love with “Upstairs, Downstairs” families as part of the long-running Masterpiece Theater on PBS, where it won seven Emmy Awards. It was kinda before my day, but I have watched a few repeat epsiodes from time to time, so I do have a little knowledge of it. I just have trouble understanding what they are saying – I have the same issue when I watch Piers Morgan on his new CNN talk show so I turn on my closed captioning just to be able to read the subtitles in order to be able to understand what he is saying. I think my manager Mr. Bricks is missing a chromosome because he understands everything Piers says and even thinks that  Piers’ dry type of humor is very funny.

My Favorite Soap Opera. I'd love to be on the show!

Back to, “Upstairs, Downstairs” – it was like a soap opera about the uppercrust Bellamy family. In my opinion, it was no “Days of Our Lives” where the Horton, Brady and DiMera families have been creating muckery in Salem for the past 45 years. For some reason the Brits love to have a superior family structure, it is never more evident than with their royal family dramas and how much attention is given to every move any member of the Royal Family makes or does not make.

Mr. Bricks home computer

So I ask you, are the wires in my Greek noggin all mucked up or is it just me who is the only one on the planet who could really care less about the upcoming royal wedding with Prince William and Kate Middleton?  My manager Mr. Bricks will kill me for saying all of this because it seems like I am ranting on the British, I am not – it just seems that way today.  I love England, I love Shakespeare, I love Fish and Chips and when in London I love riding the London Eye. Mr. Bricks says I should always be Switzerland so I do not alienate any fans. I am sure Mr. Bricks will be hunched over his vintage IBM 5150 PC today searching my blog stats to see if anyone from England has cancelled their subscription or unfollowed my blog after all of these anti-UK declarations today:

  1. I can not understand a thing Piers Morgan says
  2. I am not a huge fan of British Humor
  3. I think Days of Our Lives is way better than Upstairs, Downstairs
  4. I could careless about the upcoming Royal Wedding

In the world of common sense, you can say Mr. Bricks lives Upstairs, I live Downstairs.

Tally Ho,

Ava

xox

 

About Ava Aston's Muckery

Hello! Thanks for stopping by. My name is Ava Aston and I am a recording artist and actress. I'm just an ordinary girl who acts, sings, writes songs and now writes this blog. I hope you enjoy my blogging enough to want to subscribe. Blessings, Ava If you want to learn even more about me, check out my website at www.avaaston.com
This entry was posted in Ava Aston, Blog, Cute girl, Funny girl, Greek, Hot chick, Motivation, Mr. Bricks, Rocker chick and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Upstairs, Downstairs

  1. frizztext says:

    Barking up the wrong staircase – great, to visualize your article with this photo!

    • Oh how easy it would have been to slap up a photo of the cast from the series of Upstairs, Downstairs as my lead photo, but that is too easy and too predictable.
      I try to do my best to have a photo that has absolutely the very slightest thing to do with my blog. This Greek girl tries to always take the road less traveled.

      Blessings,

      Ava
      xox

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    The good thing about us Brits is that self-deprecation is in the blood. You haven’t said anything we haven’t said ourselves (hilariously; we get our own sense of humour).

    I’m afraid many Brits have an equally low opinion of America (especially after the Bush administration).

    The important thing is to respect each other’s differences: we are both great democracies with great tolerance for other cultures. So long as we speak politely, it’s fine to say ‘I don’t like it’ or ‘I don’t get it.’

    This Brit won’t be un-subscribing 🙂

    • Thanks Tilly what a good friend you are!! And you are right, it is all about appreciating our differences and I won’t be un-subscribing to your blog anytime soon either!!

      Blessings,

      Ava
      xox

  3. frizztext says:

    dear AVA,
    you inspired me to post an advice article for Mr. Bricks. As I saw his home computer, I thought, maybe he could need some advice, how to burn some CDs for you:
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/how-to-burn-a-cd/

  4. The Hook says:

    I love British tv, but I’ve never seen this one. Thanks for sharing.

    • Tilly Bud says:

      There was a new, three-part version on tv at Christmas, set about six years after the first version ended. Only one original character in it, but it was pretty good.

      Ava, I also meant to say I loved that photo.

Leave a Reply

