Why Dancing With The Stars Makes My Brain Bleed

Tom Bergeron and Brooke Burke from ABC's "Dancing WIth The Stars"

Dancing with the stars has always made my noggin twitch. No, not the TV series, but really, dancing with the stars. If you saw the blog post headline and were looking for the latest news on which celebrity was just booted off of the ABC reality series “Dancing with The Stars” – sorry wrong blog. My Bad.

I’m talking about the other boring Dancing With the Stars…. a planetarium show.

When I was just a little Greek girl, my 4th grade class took a field trip to a planetarium. The first 3 minutes were really cool. The next 87 minutes, not so much. In fact it was so boring I think it made my noggin bleed. A planetarium is basically a theatre built by science geeks to present educational and “entertaining” shows about astronomy to little kids who weren’t smart enough or didn’t know enough not to opt out of that particular field trip.

Thinktank Planetarium, one of the top 10 busiest small planetariums in the world. Visit them at http://www.thinktank.ac/planetarium

The planetarium can simulate the night sky and is great for training in celestial navigation. It is also a really great dark place for high school students to make out. But that’s a blog for another day. Besides, I think that’s why you only see grade school kids and super old people inside a planetarium, just sayin’. One of the main features of most planetariums, other than holding little kids against their will, is the large dome-shaped projection screen onto which scenes of stars, planets and other celestial objects can be made to appear and move realistically to simulate our complex solar system, galaxies and motions of the heavens.

Ok, Greek Girl where does dancing with the stars come in? Well, on that particular  field trip a few short naps into the boring presentation, and shortly after my 4th grade class mate Cindy Lear peed her pants, they started playing classical music over the sound system. Then some really, really old guy (who I think was the astronomer, Galileo) started giving a presentation by speaking in a monotone voice explaining the locations of the Big Dipper, Sagittarius, Hercules, Orion and other constellations I immediately forgot the names of. This impromptu science lesson might get a little boy an astronomy  merit badge but bored this Greek girl to tears. Then the presenter (aka Galileo) made the kids oh and ah by having a meteor shower dancing on the ceiling with the ease of a Lionel Richie music video.

While all the other wide-eyed kids were soaking up the solar system, this Greek girl was thinking of new lyrics to the Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star melody.

Blessings,

Ava

xox

About Ava Aston's Muckery

Hello! Thanks for stopping by. My name is Ava Aston and I am a recording artist and actress. I'm just an ordinary girl who acts, sings, writes songs and now writes this blog. I hope you enjoy my blogging enough to want to subscribe. Blessings, Ava If you want to learn even more about me, check out my website at www.avaaston.com
This entry was posted in Ava Aston, Blog, Blonde, girl of the day, Greek and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why Dancing With The Stars Makes My Brain Bleed

  1. frizztext says:

    someone named Mariah Carey – tries to copy you:

  2. frizztext says:

    Mariah’s attitude: too much; I’m sure she has no humor …

  3. How right you are! Kids and old people.
    xx

  4. Dear Ava

    As manager of the UK’s most progressive and coolest digital planetarium it is VERY DISAPPOINTING to see you painting all planetariums with the same brush.

    Don’t get me wrong, I agree some planetariums (particularly the traditional non-digital ones – did you even know there was a difference?) bore their audiences to death, ‘making their brains bleed’. Yet we don’t. Take a look at our programme (www.thinktank.ac/planetarium) – we offer everything from astronomy to space to art to theatre to music to psychedelic Pink Floyd and experimental fulldome (360˚) experiences.

    WE work very hard and are very successful at making people’s brains ORGASM – not bleed! 🙂

    Mario Di Maggio
    Manager: Thinktank Planetarium
    http://www.facebook.com/ThinktankPlanet

    • Mario:

      Thank you for setting me straight about Planetariums and specifically everything that the Thinktank Planetarium is doing. My blog is humor, not fact – but it is nice to now have the facts about what you are doing to educate young minds around the world. I apologize if I offended you or anyone at your great institution. Next time I am Birmingham, I want to stop by and see what I have been missing!

      Thanks again for putting me in my place, it hurts but I am glad you pointed out just how wrong I was!

      Blessings,

      Ava
      xox

Leave a Reply

